Lighten Up this year…

Well the holidays are upon us. I wonder what this year’s news of Black Friday craziness will bring? it never fails to break my heart to think about  the celebration of the birth of our Savior being ushered in with people acting crazy over a good deal—it’s disgraceful and I’m not so sure we as believers are doing much to stop the madness.

As I consider my own life and frantic pace during some past holidays, and as I look around, it occurs to me that we in the church (all Christians not just at my church) have let society dictate to us what Christmas should be about. How has that happened?? I mean, what is our problem? How do we listen and follow the lead of a culture which is so counter-Christ??

Friends, it’s time!! It’s time for us to take back Christmas! To place Christ where He should be in our lives and in our celebrations–right at the center. I’m burdened that I, and many others, have allowed this deviation from Christmas to happen on our watch. Just like anything else that the Lord burdens me with, I began to consider what do I do? How do we as believers make changes and how can we stand against culture most effectively??

Imagine what could happen if:
-our Christmas season really is all about Jesus and not about impressing others or running ourselves ragged like culture says we should.
-we choose to invite some people over(maybe lost people) and share some favorite Christmas memories together.
-our encounters with others in stores, schools, work or wherever are all about bringing light into the dark of this world (Matt 5:16)

Maybe, just maybe the world is waiting to see some Christians who are willing to live what they say they believe–every day. If we decide to look like who we say we follow then wow! there is no limit to what God can do with us then.

I definitely don’t have all the answers but I do know this–we have to be intentional. If we don’t have a plan then we will default to the easiest setting and that will be what the world dictates. There is probably no time of the year when people are more open to conversations about Jesus. SOOO what if we just commit to talking about Jesus every day —with someone, somehow, anywhere??? Matt 5:16 says “Let your light so shine before men that they see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven” Let’s take it seriously and let our lights shine. One of the best ways to do that is to make Jesus a part of our everyday conversations. Share your faith, tell your story, talk about your Savior to someone every day.

When I’m being intentional about bringing Jesus into my conversations it’s interesting what leaves my conversations–things like ugly words, negative talk, whining, bragging, fussing and so on- will all have to be absent from the way that I talk (whether in person or online). When I bring Jesus in–they go out…and that can only be a good thing:)

One response to “Lighten Up this year…

  1. Thank you for the encouragement to talk to others daily about Jesus. He is the most important friend we have. and for a friend that can actually change someones life for the good for permanent not just a temporary fix.
    Blessigs to you. Nancy H.

Leave a Reply

