Persevere!

Reading today in James and this struck me “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything”

It is simple and easy to understand and yet like so many things I read in the Word of God–I don’t always put it into practice. I began thinking about what I have given up on (or been tempted to give up on recently) because it may have gotten hard or been inconvenient?? When did I buy into the philosophy that says “if its too hard just dont bother or try something else until you find what is easy for you”? I’m sorry, but no where in my Bible (or my experience) does it say that living as a Christ follower is supposed to be easy.

Actually its a bit contrary to that. I read about a real enemy we have and that expect to suffer some persecution for His sake and then these verses in James to count it all joy when…not IF but WHEN.

It takes me back to the whole Kardashian wedding fiasco that I blogged about earlier. Our world preaches a “just do what you want as long as you want and then witch to something else” philosophy that has nothing to do with the Truth of God’s Word. It is completely void of commitment and follow through and perseverance…AND maybe that explains why there are such immature people around us. Look at what is the result of perseverance–maturity!

that my friends is what we need. To be Christ followers who are mature and growing in our faith so that WHEN tough times come we will stand firm and not be shaken!!!! If we don’t want to be wimpy believers we must do what it takes to grow.

The next time you, or I, feel tempted to just give up, quit on something, not follow through, or anything else that smacks of not persevering may we be reminded of these words from James—lets count it all joy and look for the blessing of spiritual growth that is to come:)

JOYfully,
Rachel

Leave a Reply

