True Confessions

The sermon series at our church right now is Confession. I have really gotten alot out of each week and the main thing that keeps convicting me is how much I agree with God about my sin. You see, to confess means to say the same thing about or to agree. That is stepping all over my toes because so many times I return to my sin because it does something for me or because I like it, in other words I don’t truly agree with God about it or I would be disgusted and avoid it.

My favorite analogy about this concept has to do with something that I really hate-onions. I don’t like them at all and so therefore I avoid them at all costs. I don’t buy them, order them in my food or keep them handy in my fridge. It’s my prayer that God will help me to feel the same way about my sin as He does and to avoid it at all costs (like I do onions).

When I can agree with God about the sin in my life then I can experience true confession and begin to live life in freedom.

Leave a Reply

