Country Music

I like country music…most of it anyway and there are some really good songs out there. I guess lots of them just remind me of my life and I relate to the lyrics…but there are lots of songs that I turn as soon as I hear them because I hate to listen to songs about drinking and all that stuff and I am careful about what I put into my mind (there is only so much room in there:)…sometimes there are even some good songs about God and I always hope that someone listening hears about Him and thinks about the fact that there is a God … but the other day a new song came on and I started listening…then I got disturbed because the really pretty lyrics talk about different bad things that are happening in our world and then repeat the phrase “God must be busy…” as if He doesn’t have the time to care about the bad things.

It totally bothered me because I’m afraid that too many people actually think that bad things happen because God is too busy or he doesn’t care about us and nothing could be farther from the truth. I found myself just this weekend trying to describe to someone how they can really know the Bible is true and that God is who He says He is and he was having trouble getting that God cares about every little thought in his mind, every aspect of his life…and to tell the truth, sometimes I get to living my life and forgetting that the God of the Universe Himself wants to be involved in every aspect of my life. Not just involved but in charge…he is never too busy or uncaring of the issues we have and when we remember to surrender it ALL– then is when we really start experiencing the abundant life that he wants for us and get into the personal relationship that makes a huge difference.

If you are tempted to feel like the details of your life are unimportant or insignificant then please remind yourself of the truth…that God Almighty, Jehovah—loves you and has great plans for you Jer. 33:3 and if your life is in a bad place right now, check out Isaiah 43:18-19 and ask Him to show you the ‘new thing’ he wants to do.

2 responses to “Country Music

  1. Rachel, I heard that song over the weekend as I was traveling back from Indiana. I was really bothered by the song too because if there are non-believers out there who hear it they WILL think God doesn’t care. I am so blessed to have Him in my life and even though I was listening to the words of that song I knew/know that God is at work in my life, He will take care of me and He loves me . Praise His Name!

  2. I guess that I need to go back and listen to the song again. I thought it was implying that God is busy taking care of those problems. However, my kids tell me all the time that I don’t get things. I know as a believer that God is taking care of everything!

Leave a Reply

