Temptations

I woke up early…turned the heat up…flipped the switch to start the fire (that is just still weird to me) and settled down to have my quiet time. God has been so good to me and showing me such cool things from a devotional journal I’m using on the life of Jesus (thanks girlfriend) …anyway today was on the temptation of Jesus in the wilderness and it just really hit me big time.  

One reason is because instead of reading that and having that feeling like “yeah, right, that temptation was tough, He is God’s Son, of course He would resist the devil” (that thought could be laced with a little sarcasm for emphasis) I started asking “why would Satan tempt Jesus if there was no chance that he could choose the temptation?” he wouldn’t, and that’s what really got me today. Sometimes I have been guilty of glossing over the reality of Jesus making all the right choices to live a perfect, sinless life. I forget to ascribe His earthly time with the human characteristics that He had. If His flesh was anything at all like mine than He was really hungry and he had the power to speak a word and that stone be bread…yet, he didn’t …it also intensifies for me the choice that He made to follow through with the cross…may we never forget that it was a choice our Savior made that was voluntary.  

Secondly I was reminded of the power of speaking Scripture and using the Word of God to make a stand against temptations of all kinds. One of my resolutions is to have a stronger hunger and thirst for the Word and so I have mentioned (to myself and my discipleship group) that i am going to focus on memorizing Scripture this year but as of today I am not just talking about it, I’m getting it done…and now that I’m forty that will be even more of a challenge..where was I?…see what i mean? Starting with 1 Timothy 4:7-8  

Anybody else working on memorizing? Share your verses and maybe we can inspire one another!

The temptations will come and we need to be prepared. So when we look to Jesus’ example and fill our minds with the Word of God then we will have ready arsenal to shoot down Satan (i always type Stan first, lol)  

3 responses to “Temptations

  1. Girl, what is the name of this journal? It sounds very good!
    I’am reminded that the Word of God is compared to a Sword. It is time to get our Swords out and blow the dust off of them. How I have underestimated the power of God’s Word. I have tried in the past to fight off temptations in the flesh…IT DOES NOT WORK!

    Ephesians 6:11-17

  2. Hey Rachel,
    Stan’s been bothering me lately, trying to convince me that I never hear God’s direction properly. So I’ve memorized Psalm 32:8, “I will instruct you in the way that you should go; I will counsel you with My eye upon you.” His eye is upon me, how can I get too far out of His will?? What comfort!
    Blessings Girl!

  3. Hi Rachel, I’ve come across your blog by just by pressing the random arrow. What you have written is such an inspiration. Rest assured that I will visit your site more often. Ü I love to read Psalm 51.

    1 Have mercy on me, O God,
    according to your unfailing love;
    according to your great compassion
    blot out my transgressions.
    2 Wash away all my iniquity
    and cleanse me from my sin.

    3 For I know my transgressions,
    and my sin is always before me.

    4 Against you, you only, have I sinned
    and done what is evil in your sight,
    so that you are proved right when you speak
    and justified when you judge.

    5 Surely I was sinful at birth,
    sinful from the time my mother conceived me.

    6 Surely you desire truth in the inner parts [a] ;
    you teach [b] me wisdom in the inmost place.

    7 Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean;
    wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.

    8 Let me hear joy and gladness;
    let the bones you have crushed rejoice.

    9 Hide your face from my sins
    and blot out all my iniquity.

    10 Create in me a pure heart, O God,
    and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

    11 Do not cast me from your presence
    or take your Holy Spirit from me.

    12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation
    and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.

    13 Then I will teach transgressors your ways,
    and sinners will turn back to you.

    14 Save me from bloodguilt, O God,
    the God who saves me,
    and my tongue will sing of your righteousness.

    15 O Lord, open my lips,
    and my mouth will declare your praise.

    16 You do not delight in sacrifice, or I would bring it;
    you do not take pleasure in burnt offerings.

    17 The sacrifices of God are [c] a broken spirit;
    a broken and contrite heart,
    O God, you will not despise.

    18 In your good pleasure make Zion prosper;
    build up the walls of Jerusalem.

    19 Then there will be righteous sacrifices,
    whole burnt offerings to delight you;
    then bulls will be offered on your altar.

    God Bless!

Leave a Reply

