Commitments and Resolutions

Well, I think I put it off long enough…and some people might think it strange that I would write about resolutions almost halfway through January, but those of you that know me well know that I tend to stay a little off base most of the time. I love new beginnings, new years, new days, new clothes, new journals and especially new shoes. I love that God’s mercies are new every day and I really have found a huge new appreciation for that fact.  We had dinner with some close friends on New Year’s Eve and one of them wanted us to all go around and share what our new year resolutions were. When it was my turn I was able to venture a couple of thoughts(that are actually things I had been contemplating) but the truth is that I have to think things like that through a little more and when new year’s eve rolls around I haven’t really had enough peace and quiet to focus on it quite yet. i love Christmas and all that goes with the season celebrating Jesus’ birth, but lets be honest, it is very busy ( i think i fixed like a zillion meals and did 700,000 loads of laundry), When I’m able to take time to be quiet and still, I like to just pray and focus on Him and not necessarily what all I need to change in the coming year. So that brings us to why I am getting to this now. 

This year my resolutions and commitments seem to all fall under two categories: 

1. Be intentional: about loving the Word of God and not just to know it but to live it 
-about my prayer life-go to another level with Him personally
-about my family- work to develop godly character in my kids 
– about being  healthy-drink more water!
– about witnessing 

 2. Expect the unexpected-there is nothing dull about my God and living a spirit filled life 
-always be willing to put people first-before my schedule or my ‘to do list’ 
-Live each day surrendered to the Holy Spirit -then watch and expect Him to do great things daily  

that about sums it up for me…looks like its going to be a great year:)  what about you? i’d be interested to see what everyone else’s resolutions are…maybe they will inspire me and i can add to mine

2 responses to “Commitments and Resolutions

  1. Its about time you blogged! I always enjoy the humor in hearing your voice through the text. I just want to comment on Section 2 subtitle A…As someone who feels like she takes a lot of your time (usually at your busiest time)..I think you can cross this off as a resolution. You ALWAYS put people first, trust me I know! I have bothered you during the busiest times and you have ALWAYS stopped what you were doing. So scratch that off your list. Replace it with, “let God change my heart to love the Dogs in the neighborhood more”.

Leave a Reply

