Never Too Busy

Have you ever prayed for God to use you and then gone about your day doing your thing, running all your errands, talking on the phone, doing laundry, working and all those other details that seem to make up most of our days…then that night you stop and wonder. “why didn’t God have something for me today?”

It seems like sometimes I know to commit my day to the Lord and ask Him to use me but then I forget to look around for what He is doing and jump in on His activity. It’s amazing how much He can and will use us when we are focused on Him throughout our days. The coolest thing happened when I was substituting the other day (if you want to get a dose of reality just spend the day at high school but that’s for another post:) anyway, I love teenagers and I was subbing for a class that took a test and then went to the library for a project. Everyone was doing their thing and so I sat at a table and was looking at a magazine. A girl from the class came up and asked me a question and I had that feeling like there was more going on so I kept talking to her and she sat down with me. We proceeded to have a great conversation about salvation and how you can know that you are really saved and what to do when you doubt your salvation. It was so cool to be involved in the activity of God at the local public high school. I see students all the time who are walking through the halls and they represent Christ to the world…makes me wonder how well I’m doing representing??

 Anyway, that day I had prayed for God to use me and He did. I’m so thankful for that opportunity and it challenges me (and hopefully you) to keep our eyes open and be willing to stop and talk to the people we come in contact with …because we never know who He has placed in our path and when we are too busy (maybe getting ready for Christmas?) then we will miss out on the blessings that come with being an instrument of His love.

Who is around you that needs a little Jesus? May we always take the time –because people matter to God.

2 responses to “Never Too Busy

  1. Amen to that! What a wonderful opportunity to serve in the public school system and talk about God! I’am so thankful that you are there. May He continue to place those precious lives hanging in the balance right in front of you. Disciple on sweet sister 🙂
    Love ya,
    Janice

  2. ok. SO I read this several times and I am not sure what to say. I guess I just don’t get how you had to say “why didn’t he use me today”. I find it borderline absurd! Do you not realize how much God uses you on a daily or should I say minute basis. How many girls text you a question or for a word of encouragement each day? I personally forget to even say “How are you” becasue I go right into the problem or question. You are an Eli to so many people everyday!

Leave a Reply

